Holidays list for TN Govt. Employees



G.O. Ms. No.994, Dated the 20th October 2011

Holidays - Public Holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 for the State Government Offices and all Commercial Banks including Co-operative Banks in TamiI Nadu for the year 2012 — Orders issued

Read: 1. G.O.Ms.No.911, Public (Misc) Department dated 01.10.2010.

         2. Reserve Bank of India letter reference No. DAPM (Che)/307/03.02.091/2011-12 dated 12.07.2011.


The Government of Tamil Nadu pass the following orders in regard to the observance of Holidays in the State of Tamil Nadu for the year 2012:-.

(i) Public Holidays: The Holidays declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881), indicated in the notification appended to this order win be published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette. .

(ii) Government Holidays: The Government direct that all the offices under the control of the Government of Tamil Nadu be closed on:

(a) The dates specified in the notification appended to this order (except Annual Closing of Bank Accounts on 02.04.2012 and Half Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts on 29.09.2012).

(b) All Saturdays and Sundays in the year 2012.

2. The above Public Holidays notified shall also apply to all State Government Undertakings / Corporations / Boards. etc.

(By order of the Governor)



Under the Explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act,1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of
India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No 20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June,1957, the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares, that in addition to
“Sundays expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said ‘Explanation” the following days shall be Public Holidays for the year 2012.






1 New Year's Day 01.01.2012 Sunday
2 Pongal 15.01.2012 Sunday
3 Thiruvalluvar Day 16.01.2012 Monday
4 Uzhavar Thirunal 17.01.2012 Tuesday
5 Republic Day 26.01.2012 Thursday
6 Meelad-un-Nabi 05.02.2012 Sunday
7 Telugu New Year's Day 23.03.2012 Friday
8 Annual closing of Accounts for Commercial & Co-operative Banks* 02.04.2012 Monday
9 Mahaveer Jayanthi 05.04.2012 Thursday
10 Good Friday 06.04.2012 Friday
11 Tamil New Year's Day 13.04.2012 Friday
12 Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Birthday 14.04.2012 Saturday
13 May Day 01.05.2012 Tuesday
14 Independence Day 15.08.2012 Wednesday
15 Ramzan 20.08.2012 Monday
16 Krishna Jayanthi 08.09.2012 Saturday
17 Vinayakar Chathurthi 19.09.2012 Wednesday
18 Half yearly closing of Accounts for Commercial banks & Co-operative Banks* 29.09.2012 Saturday
19 Gandhi Jayanthi 02.10.2012 Tuesday
20 Ayutha Pooja 23.10.2012 Tuesday
21 Vijaya Dasami 24.10.2012 Wednesday
22 Bakrid 27.10.2012 Saturday
23 Deepavali 13.11.2012 Tuesday
24 Muharram 25.11.2012 Sunday
25 Christmas 25.12.2012 Tuesday
* Applicable only to Commercial Banks and Co-operative banks in TN.

Source :



Popular posts from this blog

Central Government Office Holiday List 2023 - DoPT Order PDF Download

7th CPC Pay Fixation on Promotion/MACP Calculator with Matrix Table

Revised Pay Scale from 1.7.2017 for Karnataka Govt Employees