The Union Cabinet today decided to include three schemes namely, National Rural Drinking Water Programme (NRDWP) of the Department of Drinking Water and Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT) and Urban Infrastructure and Governance (UIG) scheme of the Ministry of Urban Development in the Prime Minister’s New 15 Point Programme where the flow of fund to minority concentration areas up to the extent of 15% would be monitored.

The Cabinet approved inclusion of Mewat district in place of Gurgaon in Haryana as one of the minority concentration districts.

The Cabinet also decided to include Members of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assembly in the State and District level committees to monitor the implementation of the 15-point programme. This modification would also make them members in the State and District Level Committees for implementation of Multi-Sectoral Development Programme (MSDP).

There has been a steady improvement in the recruitment of minorities in the Central Government and the Public Sector Undertakings since issuing of guidelines by the Department of Personnel and Training on 8th January, 2007 for giving special consideration to the recruitment of minorities. The percentage of recruitment of minorities which stood at 6.95% in 2006-07 went up to 8.22% in 2007-08 and was 9.18% in 2008-09. In respect of maintenance of Communal Harmony the Ministry of Home Affairs has revised the Communal Harmony guidelines in July, 2008. States/UTs have been advised to submit reports to review the progress of implementation of these guidelines.

Under Priority Sector lending, Rs.82864.65 crores, amounting to 12.41% of total lending, was disbursed by the public sector banks to minority communities.


Prime Minister’s New 15-Point Programme for the Welfare of Minorities was introduced in 2006 with a view to incorporate programme specific interventions so that benefit of various Government schemes for the underprivileged reach the disadvantaged sections of the minority communities. The New Programme envisages location of certain proportions of development projects in minority concentration areas. It also provides that, wherever possible, 15% of targets and outlays under various schemes should be earmarked for minorities.

It has been three years since the Prime Minister’s New 15 Point Programme was introduced. The Cabinet has held the review meetings six times, including today’s meeting, since the introduction of the new programme. It has been ensured that 15% of the targets and outlays, for schemes considered amenable to earmarking has been allocated in respect of seven components of SSA, operationalisation of Anganwadi Centres under ECDS, assistance to Swarojgaris under SGSY, housing for the rural poor under IAY and enhanced credit support through priority sector lending. It has also been ensured that at least 15% funds flow to minority concentration areas under Basic Services For Urban Poor (BSUP) and Integrated Housing and Slum Development Programme (IHSDP).


Popular posts from this blog

Central Government Office Holiday List 2023 - DoPT Order PDF Download

7th CPC Pay Fixation on Promotion/MACP Calculator with Matrix Table

Revised Pay Scale from 1.7.2017 for Karnataka Govt Employees